Skip to content

How many images does a product listing need?

By Tasweer studio team · Last updated · 7 min read

TL;DR

  • Most product listings need 6 to 8 images: one compliant main image, three or four angles and details, one lifestyle or scale shot and one infographic.
  • Amazon recommends at least six images and one video; Noon recommends at least three.
  • Shopify allows up to 250 media items per product; Meta catalogues allow up to 50 additional images; Instagram carousels hold up to 20.
  • We could not verify a published maximum for Amazon.ae, Noon or Namshi on their public pages, so check your upload template.
  • Our ecommerce packages start at AED 1,800 for up to 20 products, or AED 150 to 250 per photo for bigger image sets, excl. 5% VAT.

Most product listings need 6 to 8 images: a compliant main image, three or four angles and details, a lifestyle or scale shot and an infographic. Amazon recommends at least six images and one video; Noon recommends at least three. Our Dubai studio shoots ecommerce sets from AED 1,800 for up to 20 products, or AED 150 to 250 per photo (excl. 5% VAT).

How many images does a product listing need?

Six to eight images is the right number for most products on UAE marketplaces. That is enough to answer the questions a shopper would ask in a shop (what it looks like from every side, how big it is, what it is made of, how it is used) without padding the listing with repeats.

Simple, low-price items such as a phone case can work with four or five. Considered purchases such as perfume, jewellery, abayas, furniture and electronics benefit from the full eight plus a video.

How many images can you upload on each marketplace?

Limits vary widely, from Instagram's 20-item carousel to Shopify's 250 media items per product, and several UAE marketplaces do not publish a maximum on their public help pages. The table shows what we could verify and what we recommend.

PlatformMaximum allowedRecommended countRecommended mix
Amazon.aeNot stated on the public pages we could access; check the image slots in your Seller Central listing form7 images + 1 video (Amazon recommends at least 6 + 1 video)White main, 3 angles or details, scale, lifestyle, infographic
NoonNot stated on Noon's image requirements page; check your category upload template6 to 8 (Noon recommends at least 3)Front (white, or light grey for fashion), back, side, angles, details, usage
NamshiNot verified; we could not find Namshi's own public image guidelines4 to 6On-model front, back, side, detail, full-length or flat-lay
Shopify / own storeUp to 250 media items per product (images, video and 3D combined)5 to 8Consistent hero, angles, detail, lifestyle, video
Instagram (feed and Shop)Carousel posts up to 20 items; Meta catalogues up to 50 additional images per item4 to 6 per product post, plus reelsLifestyle-first 4:5, detail, in-use, 9:16 reel
TikTok ShopUp to 9 images, according to third-party seller guides; confirm in Seller Center5 to 9Clean main image, angles, in-use, scale, 9:16 video

A note on certainty. The Shopify and Meta limits come from their own documentation. The Instagram carousel limit was announced by Instagram in August 2024 and reported widely. The TikTok Shop figure comes from third-party seller guides, not TikTok's own pages, and TikTok Shop availability varies by country, so check that it is open to your business. For Amazon.ae, Noon and Namshi we could not find a published maximum on a public page, so we have not guessed one.

Spec details for the two biggest UAE marketplaces are in our guides to Amazon.ae image requirements and Noon image guidelines.

What mix of images works best?

The best image set gives each image one job. Here is the eight-image structure we plan most ecommerce shoots around.

SlotImageThe question it answers
1Main image on pure whiteWhat is it? (and it must pass marketplace checks)
2Back or side angleWhat does the rest look like?
3Second angle or top-downIs there anything hidden?
4Close-up detailWhat is it made of? How well is it finished?
5Scale shot, in hand or with an everyday objectHow big is it really?
6Lifestyle imageHow would I use it? Does it suit me?
7InfographicWhat are the key features, sizes or ingredients?
8What's in the box or size chartWhat exactly do I get?

Add a video where the platform allows it. A 15-second loop or 360° spin often replaces two or three stills for showing texture and shape; see our 360° spin and product video service. Infographics and A+ modules are covered by our A+ content service.

Does every product need the same number of images?

No. Match the image count to how much a shopper needs to see before buying.

Product typeSuggested countWhy
Simple accessories, phone cases4 to 5Little to explain
Beauty and skincare6 to 7Texture, ingredients and size matter
Perfume and oud6 to 8Bottle detail, packaging and mood
Jewellery and watches7 to 8 + videoScale and reflections are hard to judge
Abayas and fashion6 to 8Front, back, detail, on-model and length
Electronics7 to 8Ports, size and what's in the box
Furniture and home7 to 8Dimensions and room context

How much does a full image set cost?

At our studio, a full six-image set is usually ordered per photo: AED 250 each for 5 to 10 photos, AED 200 for 11 to 30 and AED 150 above 30. That works out at AED 900 to 1,500 per product, depending on volume, excluding 5% VAT.

PackagePrice (excl. VAT)Images includedApprox. per image
Ecommerce EssentialAED 1,800 for up to 20 products20 retouched photos on whiteAED 90
Ecommerce Signature ★AED 3,200 for up to 40 products40 retouched photos, white + styledAED 80
Per photo (30+ photos)AED 150 per photoAs many as you orderAED 150
Product photography EssentialAED 1,500 for a 1-hour session3 edited photos per itemDepends on items shot
A+ Essential (add infographics)AED 800 for 3 products5 infographicsabout AED 53
360° Essential (add motion)AED 1,800 for 5 products15-second loopAED 360 per product

For a full breakdown and UAE market comparisons, read product photography cost in Dubai.

How should you plan the shoot?

Plan the shot list per platform before shoot day, so one session produces every crop you need.

  1. List every channel you sell on and its rules.
  2. Decide the image count per product type, using the tables above.
  3. Group products by size and finish so lighting set-ups are shared.
  4. Agree which images need white backgrounds, light grey (Noon fashion) or lifestyle sets.
  5. Ask for exports per platform: square for marketplaces, 4:5 and 9:16 for Instagram and TikTok.

Send your SKU list and channels through the quote form, or try a free edit of one product photo first.

Frequently asked questions

How many images should an Amazon.ae listing have?

Amazon staff recommend at least six images and one video per product. A good set is a white main image, three or four angles or details, a lifestyle or scale image and an infographic.

How many images should a Noon listing have?

Noon recommends a minimum of three high-quality images showing different angles, sizes and textures. We recommend six to eight, in Noon's order: front, back, side, other angles, details, usage.

Is there a maximum number of images on Shopify?

Yes. Shopify's help centre says a product can have up to 250 media items, combining images, videos and 3D models. Most stores use five to eight images per product.

Do more images always mean more sales?

Not automatically. Each image should answer a different shopper question, such as size, texture, use or what is in the box. Repeating the same angle adds nothing and can slow the page.

Should I add a video to my listing?

Where the marketplace supports it, yes. Amazon recommends one video alongside six images, and short 360° spins or loops show texture and scale better than stills.

How many images do you deliver per product?

Ecommerce Essential delivers 20 retouched white-background photos for up to 20 products, and Signature 40 photos for up to 40 products on white and styled backgrounds. Heirloom adds lifestyle, on-model shots and video clips. For more images per product, order per photo from AED 150.

Sources

  1. Amazon Seller Forums: Listings Lounge, Product Image Requirements (Amazon staff post)
  2. noon Seller Help Center: Image requirements and rejection reasons for the seller SKU
  3. Shopify Help Center: Adding product media
  4. Meta for Developers: Commerce catalog fields (image_link, additional_image_link)
  5. TechRadar: Instagram now lets you post up to 20 photos or videos in a carousel (August 2024)
  6. Soona: TikTok Shop image requirements (third-party guide)
  7. ChannelEngine: Namshi marketplace guide

Marketplace rules and regulations change. We review this guide regularly; check the source before you rely on a detail.

Related services

More guides

WhatsApp us, reply within the hour
WhatsAppFree edit